Zentangle: The Journey so far – Part 1

Hello everybody and welcome to my blog!

Here I’ll showcase my small works of art and my thoughts and ideas about other stuff, too – most of it probably on Zentangle ®. My art is small, because I’m mainly drawing Artist Trading Cards (ATCs), which are 2.5 x 3.5″ or 6,4 x 8,9 cm respectively. But I also enjoy tangling regular a Zentangle or a Bijoux tile. For someone as impatient as me these formats are simply perfect because they are finished in a short time!

In August 2011, while browsing the internet, I stumbled upon Zentangle, a creative art form coined (and copyrighted) by the Americans Maria Thomas and Rick Roberts (you can check out their blog here). In principle, this art form is about drawing repetitive patterns (called “Tangles”) which leads the drawer into a relaxing, meditative state. Since I’ve always liked patterns a lot, I got hooked quite easily. In the beginning, I prefer Zentangle-inspired Art, where Tangles are incorporated into “regular” works of art. To give you an impression of my kinds of works I’ll post a few older works of mine first before I’ll show you some new stuff.

Here you go:

Leave a comment

