A fresh Start: One Zentangle a Day – Day #1

“One Zentangle a Day” by Beckah Krahula was my first Zentangle book and I already own it for quite a few years. However, I’m embarrassed to admit that I never came to really work through the book because the rhythm of 1 tile per day is just way too fast for me. This makes me a little sad, since it is a great book (I’ll write a review as I go along or after I finish this project). Now that I have this blog I decided to give it another try.

I set three rules for this project:

  1. I definitely will NOT be able to tangle or post a tile every day, but I’ll try to squeeze in two tiles per week. If it is just one, that’s fine, too, as long as I make progress.
  2. I’ll only use the tangles introduced in the book up to that point for a tile. To be able to stick to this rule, I’ll keep a list (not on the blog) I can refer to without having to flick through the book all the time.
  3. No day shall be skipped (even though I already know that the “white on black”-challenge will be very hard vor me..) and no excuses are allowed here.

Without further ado, here is my tile for the first day:

IMG_0002

Tangles used: Static, Tipple and Crescent Moon

There was no string given so I made my own which resembles the letter “p”.

Recently I discovered that tiles and Zentangle-inspired artwork where one tangle transits into another appeal more to me and that the reason why I didn’t like my own work sometimes was that I totally lacked this aspect. There was no flow between the tangles, just stop&go, if you know what I mean. That’s why I want to try to incorporate the technique of tangle transitions into this project and learn more about it. I didn’t have much choice for the tangles of this first tile, but with the next ones coming up I’m sure I’ll have more chances to explore them. Here I like the transition between Crescent Moon and Static. Although now that it’s finished the border I made with Tipple is a little disturbing, I still like the tile!

* This is no cooperation with anybody, I haven’t been paid or asked to do this and the book I use was bought by me.

Leave a comment

