Inktober – Day #11

New day, new Inktober drawing! I still didn’t get to draw anything für the “Zentangle a Day”-project.. or this week’s Diva Challenge… But let’s be positive that I can get around to do it (or at least one of them) today. I somehow have the feeling that the drawings for Inktober are getting a little harder. Of course, I don’t want any repetitions since that would be boring, but my method for drawing the basics of these little bijou tiles seems to run into a dead end.

You ask how I’m doing it? Well, it is actually quite simple and similar to some of the first few steps of the original Zentangle method:

  1. I put a dot in each corner and then connect the dots to get my frame.
  2. Then I start from the bottom line and draw a squiggly line up and down again (that’s something like Zentangle so far).
  3. Now I look at the shape and think about what this looks like:
    • Is it a female or male shape?
    • In which direction does the person look?
    • Is that the hair or do I have to add a shape for hair (or a hat 😉 )?

    And so on. Sometimes it is very easy and I see something in my “string” (that’s what in Zentangle this squiggly line is called) immediately, but recently the strings look either quite similar to something I’ve drawn before, or I just can’t see anything in it – and erase it (the dirty word in Zentangle! ;-D) and start again until I see something.

  4. Then I modify the squiggly line to my needs and start inking and tangling – that’s it.

Looks a little like divination with tea leaves, doesn’t it? Maybe my third eye has gotten tired? *g* I don’t know. I guess I’ll have to think of something to freshen this “technique” up a bit. I already used a geometric shape in the middle of the tile once and tried to draw my squiggly line from the top. But I wasn’t THAT excited about the result. Do you have an idea?

Today’s drawing is a… little different than the ones before. The person portrayed today didn’t want to be recognised and put a mask over his head (please, no comments on anatomical (in)correctness here.. I know that this is not quite correct anatomically..). So here’s the Frog(wo)man:

Inktober 2015-11

Tangles used: Msst, Lotus Pods, Pokeroot

As for the tangles, this was a very easy one: I immediately knew which tangles I wanted to use for the Frog(wo)man. But what might be striking you if you’ve followed my Inktober drawings so far: No CO2 today! But tomorrow is another chance to use it. 🙂

Tomorrow I’m off to work again, too. I sincerely hope that Inktober won’t keep me awake for so long like last week.. I’m happy I hung in there, bu it definitely was exhausting.

Leave a comment

