Diva Challenge #251: Moebius Syndrome Awareness Day

Yay, another week has passed and another Diva Challenge is here! It was nice to tangle on something else (I’m working on the next day from “One Zentangle a Day”) and to do the first ever Diva Challenge back from 2011 and number 3 (as well as another one I’ll upload next week), but it can’t compete with a new Diva Challenge. Although… this week’s challenge doens’t come as a really big surprise when you’ve followed or played in the challenge for some time (ok, a few years).

This week, the Diva asked us to tangle something that takes up the theme Moebius Syndrome, since today, 24th of January, will be the Moebius Syndrome Awareness Day. If you don’t know what the Moebius Syndrome is or why Laura gave us this challenge, I suggest you look at her post for this challenge for an explanation. If you want the short version: Laura’s second son, Artoo, was diagnosed with Moebius Syndrome after his birth and since then, Laura has always kept us updated about the highs and lows of this happy little fellow’s life. As far as I know, this is an annual challenge, so it’s not all brand-new. But still important and interesting! This is my tile:

DC-251_Moebius-Syndrome
Tangles used: AHH, Oke, Onamato, Raindotty, Tootle

I really had to refrain from looking at the things people postet in the last few years. I wanted to do something special, but, as Laura put it in her challenge #250 and as many other tanglers commented, too many choices make it harder to decide on anything at all. But since I wanted to incorporate more colour into my tiles, I decided to go for purple this week and use some watercolour – Dioxazine Violet sure likes to run a lot wet in wet and it gave a few interesting foms indeed! For a little contrast I added Indian Yellow here and there, as well as some golden gel pen and some darker shadows in coloured pencil later. When I thought about which tangles to use, I came up with an idea. Have you worked it already? Yes? No?

Well I took the letters from Laura’s son Artoo, who was diagnosed with the Moebius Syndrome, and chose the tangles based on his name:
AHH, Raindotty, Tootle, Oke, Onamato.
Incorporating all these tangles I hardly ever use (save AHH and Oke) into one tile with the task to use the Moebius Syndrome’s logo as a string was quite hard actually – did you know that there are only comparatively few tangles that have a name starting with an “O”? nd they are not among those taht I frequently use or prefer… But I loved the idea of Artoo being in the tile. The overall design is not a really innovative idea, but I like it!

2 thoughts on “Diva Challenge #251: Moebius Syndrome Awareness Day

  1. What a beautiful purple tile! I love all the purple you have on there and the tangles are so well done too. It just says happy to me, so I smile when I look at it.

Leave a comment

