Diva Challenge #4: Starry Eyed Surprise

Another belated Diva-Challenge! Originally, I wanted to pick something from a little later on the list. However, this challenge caught my eye and when I read how this challenge came to be, I had to to it asap. For this challenge Laura showed us the tattoes she and her husband got for their 5th wedding anniversary: stars. That’s why she wanted us to incorporate stars into our works. Not only the challenge itself (stars!) is great but also the reason behind it.

And because of that and since the challenge was such fun to do, I tangled two tiles:

DC-004_Starry-Eyed-Surprise-1
Tangles used: Arukas, Auraknot, Fengle, Quipple

I’m really satisfied with this tile and so happy now that I finished it. I love Arukas, but when the parallel curved lines get wonky or not perfectly parallel, I tend to put it away with my other “I’ll finish that someday for sure. Definitely.”-works (some months ago, I even might have thrown the unfinished piece away). But by now I hve learned that this imperfection is not a bad thing at all and that after shading at the latest everything looks astonishingly… cool. Like this one. And I did my first (black and white) gem! Hope you like it. 🙂 And I hope that someday I’ll discover the secret of where to put Arukas’ “arms” to get an (about) even thickness with each one of them.

DC-004_Starry-Eyed-Surprise-2
Tangles used: Hypnotic, Knightsbidge, Lotus Pods, Quipple

When I put away the first, unfinished tile, I started this one right away with a few stars strewn upon the tile and a few curvy, diagonal lines. I wanted the stars to “pop out” of a dark sky and I darkened and darkened Hypnotic (originally there was very little Knightsbridge involved, it kept growing bigger) further until I was satisfied. I definitely do like the contrast! I read about the black background in a great blogpost this week (tht’s when I read it, I’m not sure if it was written recently or not) which I unfortunately forgot to bookmark. I looked for it everywhere but I couldn’t find it again.. ;-( So if you wrote about how you had to become comfortable with white space first and then started to use black backgrounds or now where to look for, then PLEASE leave me the link in the comments! It was a really good post..

2 thoughts on “Diva Challenge #4: Starry Eyed Surprise

  1. They are both great tiles and I loved reading about your process. If you ever do find out where the blog post was, let me know. I read a lot of Blogs – but very sporadically – and I haven’t come across it. PS. The black and white gems are so nice!

    1. Thank you for your comment! 😉 Yes, if I ever find that blog again, I’ll write a post about it. Haven’t given up hope yet so… let’s keep our fingers crossed!

Leave a comment

